When Tuesday Feels Like Monday?

Ever felt like the week was dragging on? Find yourself feeling that first wave of burnout starting to hit? Don’t worry! You aren’t alone in that feeling. If you are in the US, you are probably falling victim to the “busy” culture. Busy culture is when we constantly tell ourselves and others that we are busy, that we have a lot going on, or that we do not have time for anything.

Here are five tips to get over the hump and practice resilience in the face of burnout.

Number 1: Take time to do something you actually enjoy doing. “Whoa Vince! You are saying that I have to stop being busy for a few seconds to do something I enjoy? I don’t have time for that.” Take 10 minutes out of your day to do something you enjoy. Scroll through Instagram. Go for a walk. Read that article you have been meaning to read. Get on a call with a loved one. Start with ten minutes and work your way up to a half hour.

Number 2: Stop saying that you are busy. The more you say it, the more your body feels it. You will get to the end of some days and feel infinitely more exhausted than others because of four words. “I am so busy.” Even writing that sentence felt draining. Find other ways to tell people that the last few weeks have been stressful. Also, talk about what successes you’ve had during this stressful time. Interject some positive outcomes into your conversations to let people know that your hard work is paying off.

Number 3: Stop Procrastinating during busy times. If you have deadlines to meet, projects to complete, and a variety of other tasks to finish, work on them. Set aside specific times to actually complete tasks. It will reduce stress and boost morale. Checking items off the To-Do List is one of the most satisfying feeling in the world – BTW.

Number 4: Set your intentions. I was gifted a notepad that is called the Daily Intention Tracker. My day is more productive if I fill out the notepad when I first arrive at the office. Writing intentions allows me to clearly articulate what I want to achieve each day. Putting my intentions on paper really helps me focus my energy on what I need to do. This practices keeps me from living passively and letting the day pass me by.

Number 5: Eat, Sleep, Shower, Repeat (Exercise too. – if that’s your thing). These activities are necessities and need to be prioritized into your daily schedule if you are feeling stressed. Eat an uninterrupted meal, which means no work, no texting, and no rushing. SLOW DOWN and taste your food. Sleep as much as you can. Shower – you’ll feel better and everyone will like you more. Do it all over again. Exercise can also help you destress and refocus on your priorities.

When I get to a point of being “busy” whether real or perceived, I get stressed. My eating habits go to shit. The quality of my work dips. Finding balance and taking care of yourself is one of the best ways to pump some energy back into your bones. Practice these tips and you’ll be well on your way to being back at your best. Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

