A Final Journey with LeaderShape (for now…)

The past 24 hours have been a whirlwind. I’ve spent time with the staff and fellow Program Coordinators for the Institute with LeaderShape. For those who who may be unfamiliar, LeaderShape is an organization that provides both national and campus based programs focused on creating a more just, caring, and thriving world. Yesterday and part of today, I spent time with their training team and other coordinators who put on and plan the LeaderShape Institute for their campuses

This is not my first experience with LeaderShape or the Institute, but it may be my last (hence the “for now…” in the title). In 2011,  I attended the program, in 2013 and 2014 I served as a Challenge Course Facilitator, and last year (2016) I had the opportunity to be a Cluster Facilitator. This year will be a little different. With graduation looming in May, I have to think about future opportunities, the job hunt, and where I want to be. Between now and then, I will be helping out in the Program Coordinator role.

How fitting it is that a program that introduced me to a life of possibility be the program that I now get to prepare for the next generation of students who will attend. As time has gone by, I’ve learned a great deal as a result of attending the Institute. Even more than attending, I’ve learned a lot from being involved in various roles. To me, five years is a significant amount of time to dedicate to anything, let alone an organization. However, my commitment to LeaderShape and making a better world makes five years seem like the blink of an eye.

A few hours in Chicago with people from around the country discussing leadership seems to be the best way to start my “last” LeaderShape and Institute journey. I reflect on the moments of my experience and the last thing I remember being said to me was You May Begin. Today, I’ve begun and cannot wait to experience all that will happen in between.

img_8152

Leave a Reply

