I made it to Italy, but I may never leave.

I love Italy. It is my favorite place in the world. It’s the people, the pace of life, the history, the culture, and so much more. I want to move here. Honestly, I probably will at some point in my life. I fall in love with it more and more with each visit. If I can’t move here, I’ll come here once a year for the rest of my life. I digress.

Pano 1

Today was especially awe inspiring. I stood in history, appreciating that these places were built by people with little technology and a great deal of genius. Massive structures towered over me as I walked through never ending corridors. I stood on plateaus overlooking the entire Roman Forum. I had panoramic views of the city from atop the Altare della Patria. I sat quietly on a stone bench, journaling in a small corner of the one of the gardens hidden away from everyone. I roamed for hours amazed by beautiful places filled with history I’ve read in books.

Pano 3

In quiet reflection, I walked around Vatican City and St. Peter’s Basilica taking in what this place means to people around the world. Max Ehrmann, an american author, writes “Therefore be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be, and whatever your labors and aspirations, in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace with your soul.” In quiet moments and on the overcrowded metro, in solitude or in the company of others, I have found peace here in Italy.

Vatican

One thought on “I made it to Italy, but I may never leave.

Leave a Reply

